Journeyman Training

Upcoming Training Classes

Contact the training center at 713-861-3202 ext 217 to register.

Backflow Tester 60 Hr. Class - $215.00 for union members

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee will offer a 60 hour Backflow Prevention Assembly Testers Course. This course presents guidelines for acceptable practices for Testing Backflow Prevention Assemblies used in Cross Connection Control Programs. Course material includes information needed for identifying cross-connections, understanding how backflows occur and the dangers they present, methods used to control backflows and recommended applications for each type of backflow assembly, and hands-on testing and maintenance procedures for various assemblies.

Students who successfully pass the Certification Exam administered at the conclusion of the course will receive a certificate issued by the American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) and will meet the course requirements to be licensed by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ).

The class will meet on the following dates from 5:30 pm – 9:30 pm.  The cost for this class is $215.00. If payment is by check, make it payable to the Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee (HAPJAC). If you are paying by cash, exact amount is required.

Monday, March 2, 2020
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Monday, March 9, 2020
Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Monday, March 16, 2020
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Monday, March 23, 2020
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Monday, March 30, 2020
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Monday, April 6, 2020
Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Monday, April 13, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Monday, April 20, 2020

Backflow Repair Class - $160.00 for union members

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee is offering a 32 hour Repair Class that will meet the requirements of the Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ) and the American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) to recertify as a Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester.

Contact the Training Center to pre-register for the course and you will be notified when it is offered.

 

Medical Gas Piping Installation 48 Hr. Class - $55.00 for union members

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee is offering a 48-hour Medical Gas Piping Installation Training Class. The class will meet on the following dates from 5:30 pm – 9:30 pm.  The cost for this class is $55.00. If payment is by check, make it payable to the Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee (HAPJAC). If you are paying by cash, exact amount is required.

Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Thursday, February 20, 2020
Tuesday, February 25, 2020
Thursday, February 27, 2020
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 10, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Thursday, March 19, 2020
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Thursday, March 26, 2020
Tuesday, March 31, 2020

 

 

Multipurpose Residential Fire Sprinkler Systems

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee in cooperation with the UA/MCAT State Training Committee is offering a 40-hour Multipurpose Residential Fire Sprinkler Systems Course. This forty hour course meets the application requirements of the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners for Multipurpose Residential Fire Protection Sprinkler Specialist Endorsement examination and the course requirements for American Society of Sanitary Engineers for Plumbing Based Residential Fire Protection Systems Installer Certification. This course provides the plumber with the technical requirements to design and install Multipurpose Systems and an understanding of current Laws, Rules, Standards and Codes governing Multipurpose Residential Fire Protection Sprinkler Systems for one and two family dwellings.

The cost for the Course is $190.00 for union members. Cost includes ASSE Certification Examination for ASSE 7010 Certification.

Contact the Training Center to pre-register for the course and you will be notified when it is offered.

 

OSHA 30 Hr. Class - no charge for Local 68 members

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee is offering the OSHA 30 hour class. The class will meet on the following Saturdays from 7:00 AM – 4:30 PM: You MUST attend all 4 Saturdays assigned to the class you register for to receive the OSHA 30-Hour Certification. 

Saturday, February 15, 2020
Saturday, March 14, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Saturday, May 9, 2020

Service Plumber 60 hour Certification Class - $55.00 for union members

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee is offering a 60 hour Service Plumber Certification Class.  This class will review customer service skills, operating principles and performance characteristics of products, equipment and systems, installation procedures, safety precautions and hazards, proper documenting and recording, and other valuable skills that make a well-rounded service plumber.

Journeyworkers who successfully complete this course will be certified to the ASSE 13010 Service Plumber Certification credential and meet the requirements for the Plumber 911 program.

The class will meet on the following dates from 7:00 am – 8:00 pm.  The cost for this class is $55.00. If payment is by check, make it payable to the Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee (HAPJAC). If you are paying by cash, exact amount is required.

Saturday, March 14, 2020
Saturday, March 28, 2020
Saturday, April 25, 2020
Saturday, May 9, 2020
Saturday, May 20, 2020

 

UA Foreman Certification Class - $55.00 for union members

The United Association (UA) has addressed the industry’s needs by developing an intensive 48 hour course of study that indicates classroom and problem solving instruction using the latest information and materials.  This course is for experienced Job Foremen.  Those who successfully complete the course are eligible for the Certification Examination.

Contact the Training Center to pre-register for the course and you will be notified when it is offered.

 

Backflow CE - $160.00 for union members

The Houston Area Plumbing Joint Apprenticeship Committee is offering a 24 hour Backflow Continuing Education Class that will meet the requirements of the Texas Commission of Environmental Quality (TCEQ) and the American Society of Sanitary Engineering (ASSE) to recertify as a Backflow Prevention Assembly Tester.

 

Contact the Training Center to pre-register for the course and you will be notified when it is offered.